NEWSIES Album Debuts at #1 on the iTunes Soundtracks Chart and #15 on iTunes Album Chart - Get Yours Today!

NEWSIES Album Debuts at #1 on the iTunes Soundtracks Chart and #15 on iTunes Album Chart - Get Yours Today!

By Jason Cocovinis on April 10, 2012

Cast recording includes seven new original songs!

As Newsies continues to bring in rave reviews from critics and fans alike, the Original Broadway Cast Recording is now available digitally today on Ghostlight Records. The album has debuted at #1 on the iTunes Soundtracks chart and #15 on the iTunes album chart.

To purchase the album, visit iTunes here.

The recording is set for physical release on May 15th, 2012. The physical release will feature three special bonus tracks including an exclusive version of “Santa Fe” performed by lead Jeremy Jordan accompanied by Alan Menken on piano. The full track listing is below. For more information on the cast recording, visit:

The cast recording made its exclusive debut last week with a full stream on Click here to listen to WNYC Soundcheck’s conversation with the score’s composer, Academy Award® winner Alan Menken (Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, Sister Act). Menken composed the score with lyrics by Jack Feldman, book by four-time Tony Award® winner Harvey Fierstein (La Cage aux Folles, Torch Song Trilogy) and with orchestrations by Daniel Troob. The cast recording was produced by Alan Menken, Michael Kosarin, Frank Filipetti and Chris Montan with Executive Producer Kurt Deutsch and Musical Director Mark Hummel. The stage version of Newsies includes many of the beloved songs from the film, while introducing seven brand-new songs along with new arrangements and orchestrations. The iconic music is performed by the musical’s original cast and headed by Jeremy Jordan.

The limited engagement of Newsies opened on Broadway on March 29th to overwhelming acclaim.  Produced by Disney Theatrical Productions, Newsies is directed by Tony nominee Jeff Calhoun (Big River revival) and choreographed by Tony nominee Christopher Gattelli (South Pacific revival).  Though intended only as a pilot production before the title was licensed for regional, professional and amateur productions, Newsies’ short run at the Paper Mill Playhouse last fall engendered extraordinary interest from the media and public alike.  The show’s cast was invited to perform on ABC’s ‘The View©,’ the first time in the talk show’s 15-season history that a regional production had ever done so. Fans who had waited nearly 20 years to see Newsies live onstage, alongside audiences discovering the work for the first time, caused a sensation heard all the way to Times Square.

Praise for Newsies:

Stop the presses! Newsies is an irresistible, high energy winner!Entertainment Weekly

“Newsies has enormous magnetism! Newsies is finally where it belongs – on Broadway! I was singing along before the houselights went down!” – New York Magazine

"Newsies delivers with wit and heart, stick-in-your-head melodies and dazzlingly athletic choreography.USA Today

“Irresistible! Inspirational storytelling in the best possible sense. Galvanizing songs and exhilarating melodies!” - Hollywood Reporter

“A stirring crowd pleaser! Terrific songs – buoyant melodies by Alan Menken and rousing lyrics by Jack Feldman – and a sweet, funny, emotionally satisfying book by Havey Fierstein.”  - New York Times

Newsies Original Broadway Cast Recording track list in full:

  1. Overture

  2. Santa Fe (Prologue)

  3. Carrying the Banner

  4. The Bottom Line*

  5. That's Rich*

  6. I Never Planned on You*

  7. Don't Come a-Knocking*

  8. The World Will Know

  9. Watch What Happens*

  10. Seize the Day

  11. Santa Fe

  12. King of New York

  13. Watch What Happens (Reprise)*

  14. The Bottom Line (Reprise)*

  15. Brooklyn's Here*

  16. Something to Believe In*

  17. Once and For All

  18. Finale

*NEW original songs written for the stage production

Physical Release Bonus Tracks:

Santa Fe (Performed by Jeremy Jordan accompanied by Alan Menken)

Seize The Day (Full Song with Dance Break)

King of New York (Full Song with Dance Break)