Show History



Dirty Rotten Scoundrels is based on the 1988 comedy film of the same name, starring Michael Caine and Steve Martin. The film itself is rumored to be a remake of the 1964 film, Bedtime Story, which closely matches the plot and has the same names of its two leading men. Composer and lyricist, David Yazbeck, happened to catch a week-long marathon of the film on television one day and became interested in the concept. After contacting MGM to obtain the rights, TV writer, Jeff Lane, showed interest in the project and was brought on as bookwriter.


Dirty Rotten Scoundrels premiered in San Diego, California, on September 22, 2004.
The musical opened on Broadway at the Imperial Theatre on March 3, 2005. Directed by Jack O'Brien and choreographed by Jerry Mitchell, the show was nominated for eleven Tony Awards and ten Drama Desk Awards. The cast included John Lithgow, Norbert Leo Butz, Sherie Rene Scott and Joanna Gleason. Dirty Rotten Scoundrels closed September 3, 2006, after 36 previews and 627 performances.

A North American national tour launched on August 4, 2006, with Norbert Leo Butz reprising his role as Freddy. The tour ended on August 19, 2007. The next month, a 25-city, Non-Equity company opened in Dayton, Ohio. Its final performance was on March 23, 2008, in Memphis, Tennessee.